Conference #48 - Replicant: software freedom on mobile devices

Mobile devices 50 mn en_US Large people, Geek Confirmed

Conference introduction

Android is developed by Google mostly as open source, through the Android Open Source Project. However, AOSP cannot actually run on most devices without proprietary software for supporting various hardware features. Back in 2010, the Replicant project was founded by a couple of free software enthusiasts to try and bring a fully free version of Android to the first Android phone, the HTC Dream, by replacing or avoiding the proprietary parts. Four years later, more than 10 different devices are supported by the project, which still focuses primarily on software freedom. Hence, making Replicant the only mobile operating system that truly puts the emphasis on freedom.

About speaker

Biography

Paul Kocialkowski started using free software in 2008 and soon gained interest in software freedom, with a particular emphasis on running fully free systems. After an unfortunate soldering accident on his Openmoko FreeRunner board, he decided to try out Replicant, the fully free Android version. Starting as a user of the system, he gradually became the main developer of the project and holds that position since more than two years now. He is also in charge of maintaining the single board computers and plug computers comparisons from the software freedom perspective on the Free Software Foundation's website.

Conference description

This talk will present Replicant as part of the effort to reach software freedom on (telephony-enabled) mobile devices. First, it will introduce the major freedom issues that are encountered on these devices, as well as considerations regarding the security of these devices and the communications made with them, from an ideal scenario to what the reality actually is today. The talk will then focus on the proprietary parts needed by most open source mobile operating system and how Replicant comes into play. Various community Android versions will be mentionned, as well as other systems such as Firefox OS or Ubuntu Touch. An overview of what was accomplished by the Replicant project over the years will then be mentioned, as well as the challenges we are currently facing and the current state of the project. Finally, a demonstration of Replicant running on various devices will be shown!

About the Replicant project:
Website:
Redmine:

Schedule

  • Tuesday 8/7 à 16:20 | Amphi 31 - 43.632778;3.862760

amarok apache archlinux arduino bitcoin blender creativecommons cernohl debian chamilo drupal elphel eZ Publish fedoraproject firefox gentoo gimp gnome gnu freebsd freeguppy gnuhealth haiku imagemagick inkscape jabber jenkins joomla kde knoppix lea-linux libreoffice linux mageia mandriva moodle mozilla openarena openbsd Open Street Map opensuse perl php pidgin plone postgresql python ruby rudder scribus spip thunderbird tomcat tryton typo3 ubuntu vlc wikipedia wordpress xfce xonotic

Conférence #48 - Replicant: software freedom on mobile devices

Périphériques mobiles 50 mn en_US Grand public, Geek Confirmé

Introduction de la conférence

Android est principalement développé par Google comme un projet open source, au travers de l’Android Open Source Project. Cependant, AOSP ne peut effectivement fonctionner sur la plupart des appareils sans composants propriétaires prenant en charge différentes parties du matériel. En 2010, le projet Replicant a été fondé par un groupe d’enthousiastes du logiciel libre, afin d’aboutir à une version entièrement libre d’Android. Initialement, le projet prenait en charge le tout premier téléphone Android, le HTC Dream, en remplaçant ou supprimant les parties propriétaires. Quatre ans plus tard, plus de 10 appareils différents sont pris en charge par le projet, qui se concentre toujours sur la liberté logicielle avant tout. De fait, Replicant est le seul système d’exploitation pour les téléphones portables mettant véritablement l’accent sur la liberté.

À propos du conférencier

Biographie

Paul Kocialkowski a commencé à utiliser du logiciel libre en 2008 et s'est rapidement intéressé aux problématiques de liberté en informatique. Après un accident de soudure malencontreux sur son Openmoko FreeRunner, il décida d'essayer Replicant, le dérivé entièrement libre d'Android. Démarrant comme utilisateur du système, il est progressivement devenu le développeur principal du projet et garde ce rôle depuis plus de deux ans maintenant. Il est également responsable des comparaisons des « single board computes » et des « plug computers » du point de vue du logiciel libre sur le site web de la Fondation pour le Logiciel Libre (Free Software Foundation).

Description de la conférence

Cet exposé présentera Replicant dans le cadre de l'initiative visant à libérer les appareils mobiles. En premier lieu, les problèmes majeurs liés à la liberté sur ces appareils seront abordés, ainsi que différentes considérations à propos de la sécurité de ces appareils et des communications qu'ils peuvent effectuer, d'un scénario idéal à la réalité d'aujourd'hui. Par la suite, la question des composants propriétaires requis pour de nombreuses versions communautaires d'Android sera abordée, ainsi que les réponses qu'apporte Replicant à ces problèmes. Plusieurs versions communautaires d'Android seront mentionnées, de même que d'autres systèmes tels que Firefox OS ou Ubuntu Touch. Un aperçu de ce-qui a été accompli au sein du projet Replicant au fil des années sera présenté, de même que les difficultés que nous avons pu rencontrer récemment et l'état actuel du projet. Enfin, une démonstration de Replicant sur plusieurs appareils aura lieu !

Programme

  • mardi 8/7 à 16:20 | Amphi 31 - 43.632778;3.862760

amarok apache archlinux arduino bitcoin blender creativecommons cernohl debian chamilo drupal elphel eZ Publish fedoraproject firefox gentoo gimp gnome gnu freebsd freeguppy gnuhealth haiku imagemagick inkscape jabber jenkins joomla kde knoppix lea-linux libreoffice linux mageia mandriva moodle mozilla openarena openbsd Open Street Map opensuse perl php pidgin plone postgresql python ruby rudder scribus spip thunderbird tomcat tryton typo3 ubuntu vlc wikipedia wordpress xfce xonotic