Conference #225 - Building a sustainable business model with your community

Economic models 20 mn fr_FR Professionnal Beginner

Conference introduction

Despite the legitimacy that free software has gained in recent years, many questions remain about the economic model of free software development. However, there is no doubt about the value provided by these software to the communities. How then to have the community fund the development, fairly and in the long term?

About speaker

Biography

After having founded Open Initiative in 2010 to ease agile projects for small businesses, we launched in 2013 Open Funding, cofunding platform for free software.

Conference description

Have users fund developments with a professional relationship, allow developers to focus on their development activity by organizing a support network specialized in the community management and communication campaigns, think the funding in the long run with consideration of the roadmap, these are some of the major keys used by Open Funding to provide a sustainable business model to free software development.

Open Funding is an cofunding platform for free software. The principle is to fund, feature by feature, the changes proposed by developers of free software. This gives users a way to improve the software they use, and developers have a business model for their work. Developers commit on a result, and users validate development, to ensure bugs will be fixed. It brings a professional approach of funding, and thus provides a sustainable business model for free software.

Today, Open Funding is moving towards the opening of its model by allowing everyone to use this model for their own projects. This talk aims at presenting this model for projects willing to improve the funding of their development.

Schedule

  • Thursday 10/7 à 11:40 | A.6.04 - 43.632729;3.864030

amarok apache archlinux arduino bitcoin blender creativecommons cernohl debian chamilo drupal elphel eZ Publish fedoraproject firefox gentoo gimp gnome gnu freebsd freeguppy gnuhealth haiku imagemagick inkscape jabber jenkins joomla kde knoppix lea-linux libreoffice linux mageia mandriva moodle mozilla openarena openbsd Open Street Map opensuse perl php pidgin plone postgresql python ruby rudder scribus spip thunderbird tomcat tryton typo3 ubuntu vlc wikipedia wordpress xfce xonotic

Conférence #225 - Construire un modèle économique durable avec sa communauté

Modèles économiques 20 mn fr_FR Professionnel Débutant

Introduction de la conférence

Malgré la légitimité que le logiciel libre a gagnée ces dernières années, de nombreuses questions subsistent sur les modèles économiques du développement libre. Pourtant, la valeur apportée par ces logiciels aux communautés ne fait aucun doute. Comment alors faire financer les développements par la communauté de manière équitable et sur le long terme ?

À propos du conférencier

Biographie

Après avoir fondé en 2010 Open Initiative pour faciliter la création de projets agiles pour les petites entreprises, nous avons lancé en 2013 Open Funding, plate-forme de co-financement du logiciel libre.

Description de la conférence

Faire financer les évolutions par les utilisateurs sur un mode professionnel, permettre aux développeurs de se concentrer sur l'activité de développement en organisant un réseau d'accompagnement spécialisé dans la gestion de la communauté et la communication pour porter les campagnes, envisager le financement sur le long terme en lien avec la roadmap, telles sont certaines des grandes lignes envisagées par Open Funding pour apporter un modèle économique durable au logiciel libre.

Open Funding est une plate-forme de co-financement du logiciel libre. Le principe est de faire financer, fonctionnalité par fonctionnalité, des évolutions proposées par des développeurs de logiciels libres. Les utilisateurs ont ainsi un moyen de faire avancer les logiciels qu'ils utilisent, et les développeurs ont un modèle économique pour leur application. Les développeurs s'engagent sur un résultat, et les utilisateurs valident le développement, permettant d'assurer la correction des bugs. Il s'agit d'apporter un rapport professionnel dans le financement, et donc de fournir un modèle économique durable aux développeurs de libre.

Aujourd'hui, Open Funding s'oriente vers l'ouverture de son modèle en permettant à chacun d'utiliser ce modèle pour son propre projet. Cette présentation a pour objectif de présenter simplement ce modèle pour les projets qui voudraient améliorer le financement de leurs développements.

Programme

  • jeudi 10/7 à 11:40 | A.6.04 - 43.632729;3.864030

amarok apache archlinux arduino bitcoin blender creativecommons cernohl debian chamilo drupal elphel eZ Publish fedoraproject firefox gentoo gimp gnome gnu freebsd freeguppy gnuhealth haiku imagemagick inkscape jabber jenkins joomla kde knoppix lea-linux libreoffice linux mageia mandriva moodle mozilla openarena openbsd Open Street Map opensuse perl php pidgin plone postgresql python ruby rudder scribus spip thunderbird tomcat tryton typo3 ubuntu vlc wikipedia wordpress xfce xonotic