Conference #175 - Freedom on Android devices

Mobile devices 20 mn en_US Confirmed

Conference introduction

Free Your Android is a campaign run by the Free Software Foundation Europe that aims at giving back control to the user. This talk is about having root access, syncronize your data/calendar/contacts, and be in full control of every program on your device by just using Free Software and without the need of a Google account.

About speaker

Biography

Erik Albers studied Politics, Sociology, Art and Media Science and is concerned about users and software freedom since many years. Since 2012, Erik is working for the Free Software Foundation Europe where he takes care of campaigning and community.
Besides Free Software he engages in all aspects of Free Culture and is a supporter of Creative Commons and fellow of the Cultural Commons Collecting Society.
Erik's political interests are about democratization, participation and freedom of speech. His legal interests are in copyright and patent law.

Conference description

More and more we are in need of online syncing of our multiple devices between Desktop, Laptop and Mobile Devices. However, it is becoming more and more difficult to keep control of our data while we syncronize it between our devices. This is especially true for mobile devices: Most of them are "end products" that limit your access and control and, even worse, are under remote control of their vendors.

Free Your Android is a campaign run by the Free Software Foundation Europe that aims at giving back control to the user. You can have root access, syncronize your data/calendar/contacts, and be in full control of every program on your device by just using Free Software and without the need of a Google account.

This talk will highlight recent efforts of prominent companies to cut users control and take over remote control of their sold devices. In addition the talk will show a way to take back control over data and program by just using Free Software.

[The talk will most likely be accompanied by a workshop to actively take back control of your device, see below]

Schedule

  • Monday 7/7 à 11:40 | Amphi 7 - 43.631649;3.863560

Linked documents


amarok apache archlinux arduino bitcoin blender creativecommons cernohl debian chamilo drupal elphel eZ Publish fedoraproject firefox gentoo gimp gnome gnu freebsd freeguppy gnuhealth haiku imagemagick inkscape jabber jenkins joomla kde knoppix lea-linux libreoffice linux mageia mandriva moodle mozilla openarena openbsd Open Street Map opensuse perl php pidgin plone postgresql python ruby rudder scribus spip thunderbird tomcat tryton typo3 ubuntu vlc wikipedia wordpress xfce xonotic

Conférence #175 - La liberté sur les périphériques Android

Périphériques mobiles 20 mn en_US Confirmé

Introduction de la conférence

Free Android est une campagne menée par la Free Software Foundation Europe, qui vise à redonner le contrôle à l'utilisateur. Cette conférence porte sur l'accès root, synchroniser vos données / calendrier / contacts, et contrôler tous les programmes sur votre appareil en utilisant simplement le logiciel libre et sans avoir besoin d'un compte Google.

À propos du conférencier

Biographie

Erik Albers a étudié la politique, la sociologie, l'art et les médias. Il se préoccupe des utilisateurs et de la liberté du logiciel depuis de nombreuses années. Depuis 2012, Erik travaille pour la Free Software Foundation Europe, où il s'occupe de la campagne et de la communauté.
Outre le logiciel libre, il s'engage dans tous les aspects de la culture libre, partisan de Creative Commons et membre de la
Cultural Commons Collecting Society.
Les intérêts politiques d'Erik portent sur ​​la démocratisation, la participation et la liberté d'expression. Ses intérêts juridiques sont en matière de droit d'auteur et de droit des brevets.

Description de la conférence

De plus en plus nous sommes dans le besoin de synchronisation en ligne de nos multiples dispositifs entre Desktop, Laptop et les appareils mobiles. Cependant, il devient de plus en plus difficile de garder le contrôle de nos données alors que nous SYNCRONIZE il entre nos appareils. Cela est particulièrement vrai pour les appareils mobiles : La plupart sont des "produits finis" qui limitent l'accès et le contrôle et, pire encore, sont sous le contrôle à distance de leurs fournisseurs.

Free Android est une campagne menée par la Free Software Foundation Europe, qui vise à redonner le contrôle à l'utilisateur. Vous pouvez avoir un accès root, synchronisez vos données / calendrier / contacts, et être en plein contrôle de tous les programmes sur votre appareil en utilisant simplement le logiciel libre et sans avoir besoin d'un compte Google.

Cette conférence mettra l'accent sur les efforts récents de sociétés de premier plan pour réduire le contrôle des utilisateurs et de prendre le contrôle à distance de leurs appareils vendus. En outre, la conférence sera montrer une façon de reprendre le contrôle sur les données et le programme en utilisant simplement le logiciel libre.

Programme

  • lundi 7/7 à 11:40 | Amphi 7 - 43.631649;3.863560

Documents liés


amarok apache archlinux arduino bitcoin blender creativecommons cernohl debian chamilo drupal elphel eZ Publish fedoraproject firefox gentoo gimp gnome gnu freebsd freeguppy gnuhealth haiku imagemagick inkscape jabber jenkins joomla kde knoppix lea-linux libreoffice linux mageia mandriva moodle mozilla openarena openbsd Open Street Map opensuse perl php pidgin plone postgresql python ruby rudder scribus spip thunderbird tomcat tryton typo3 ubuntu vlc wikipedia wordpress xfce xonotic