Conference #134 - Haiku, one package at a time

Operating system 40 mn en_US Professionnal Confirmed

Conference introduction

Haiku, the free software operating system inspired by BeOS, has recently adopted an original package management system. We will describe its design, along with the other new features that gets us closer to an R1 version.

About speaker

Biography

Developer on the Haiku project, engineer, contributor to many free software projects, founding member of the LOAD hackerspace, member of G3L and TripleA.

Conference description

Haiku is a free software operating system inspired by BeOS.

Since the R1/alpha4 version, an original packaging system was designed, allowing for a fast and easy installation of a lot of software without any on-disk unpacking. The haikuporter tool has been revamped with inspirations from Gentoo Portage, to now permit compiling dependencies automatically and selecting the right compiler for the desired architecture, and generate the packages.

Other enhancements were also added to Haiku since R1/alpha4, like improvements to the scheduler, the WebKit-based browser, and more support for the x86_64 architecture.

And this year’s Google Summer of Code will likely also brings in even more features.

Schedule

  • Thursday 10/7 à 11:10 | Amphi 31 - 43.632778;3.862760

Linked documents


amarok apache archlinux arduino bitcoin blender creativecommons cernohl debian chamilo drupal elphel eZ Publish fedoraproject firefox gentoo gimp gnome gnu freebsd freeguppy gnuhealth haiku imagemagick inkscape jabber jenkins joomla kde knoppix lea-linux libreoffice linux mageia mandriva moodle mozilla openarena openbsd Open Street Map opensuse perl php pidgin plone postgresql python ruby rudder scribus spip thunderbird tomcat tryton typo3 ubuntu vlc wikipedia wordpress xfce xonotic

Conférence #134 - Haiku, un paquet à la fois

Systèmes d'exploitation 40 mn en_US Professionnel Confirmé

Introduction de la conférence

Haiku, le système d’exploitation libre inspiré de BeOS, s’est récemment doté d’un système de gestion de paquets original. Nous décrirons son fonctionnement, ainsi que les autres nouveautés qui nous rapprochent d’une version R1.

À propos du conférencier

Biographie

Développeur pour le projet Haiku, ingénieur, contributeur à de nombreux logiciels libres, membre fondateur du hackerspace LOAD, membre de G3L et TripleA.

Description de la conférence

Haiku est un système d’exploitation libre inspiré de BeOS.

Depuis la version R1/alpha4, un système de gestion de paquets original a été développé, permettant une installation aisée et rapide de nombreux logiciels sans décompression vers le disque. L’outil haikuporter a été remanié en s’inspirant de Gentoo Portage, et permet désormais de compiler automatiquement les dépendances en sélectionnant le compilateur suivant l’architecture désirée et générer des paquets.

D’autres améliorations ont été apportées depuis R1/alpha4, sur l’ordonnanceur et le navigateur basé sur WebKit, et un meilleur support de l’architecture x86_64.

Et le Google Summer of Code de cette année va sûrement apporter son lot de nouvelles fonctionnalités.

Programme

  • jeudi 10/7 à 11:10 | Amphi 31 - 43.632778;3.862760

Documents liés


amarok apache archlinux arduino bitcoin blender creativecommons cernohl debian chamilo drupal elphel eZ Publish fedoraproject firefox gentoo gimp gnome gnu freebsd freeguppy gnuhealth haiku imagemagick inkscape jabber jenkins joomla kde knoppix lea-linux libreoffice linux mageia mandriva moodle mozilla openarena openbsd Open Street Map opensuse perl php pidgin plone postgresql python ruby rudder scribus spip thunderbird tomcat tryton typo3 ubuntu vlc wikipedia wordpress xfce xonotic